Sunday, March 31, 2013

New York Alumni Dinner Draws a Crowd

This spring’s dinner with New York City alumni drew a record crowd, with 21 alums and 11 current students in attendance. The dinner took place on March 11 at the Heartland Brewery Empire State Building location. The students and I were were town for the spring National College Media Convention where, as reported previously, The Ithacan picked up two Gold Crown awards from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association.
It was great catching up with everyone, as always. The alumni represented a broad range of fields:
Newspapers/websites: Nic Barajas ’08 (New York Times), Aaron Edwards ’12 (Digital First Media), Erin Geismar ’09 (, Casey Musarra ’11 (, Kaydi Poirier ’11 (, Kerry Tkacik ’12 (freelance);
From left: former EIC Aaron Edwards
’12, current EIC Kelsey O’Connor ’13
 and Lara Bonner ’12, who served as
managing editor for both of them.
Magazines/websites: Patrick Doyle (Rolling Stone), Kelli Grant ’04 (, Cole Louison ’00 (GQ), Deepa Shah ’06 (Maxim), Libby Sile ’11 (Esquire);
Television: Evan Falk ’09 (FOX Business News);
Publishing: Lara Bonner ’12 (Sanford J. Greenburger Associates), James Sigman ’98 (John Wiley & Sons);
Marketing and design: Paul Colombo ’00 (Deep Focus), Lisa Boyars Gehrke ’01 (CondĂ© Nast), Anthony Iaffaldano ’99 (Undertone), Laura Lubrano ’02 (Los Angeles Times), Matt Quintanilla ’07 (Arc90), Andrew Weiser ’11 (The Cools);
Real estate: Jim Hawver ’07 (Key New York).
From left: Paul Colombo ’00, Lisa
Boyars Gehrke ’01 and Anthony
 Iaffaldano ’99.
Current students: Kelsey O'Connor ’13 (editor in chief), Noreyana Fernando ’15 (assistant news editor), Sabrina Knight ’16 (assistant news editor), Rose Vardell ’14 (assistant accent editor), Emily Hull ’15 (assistant sports editor), Rachel Woolf ’15 (photo editor), Jaclyn Cataldi ’15 (multimedia editor), Emily Fuller ’15 (design editor), Alexandra Evans ’13 (former opinion editor), Shea O'Meara ’13 (opinion editor), and Rachel Orlow ’13 (Year in Review photo editor).
From left: Laura Lubrano ’02 talks to
Kesh Center director Bob Regan.
In addition, Bob Regan, the Park School’s director of the Dr. John Keshishoglou Center for Global Communications Innovation (or the Kesh Center, for short), stopped in to talk about the school’s new Executive Master’s in Communications Innovation and bring the alumni up to speed on recent Park School developments.
From left: Libby Sile 11, Patrick Doyle and Rose Vardell ’14.
From left: current assistant sports editor Emily Hull ’15 with
former sports editors Andrew Weiser ’11 and Casey Musarra ’11.
From left: Matt Quintanilla ’07, Deepa Shah ’06 and Jim Hawver ’07.

No comments: