Monday, October 30, 2006

The Ithacan Wins a Pacemaker, an Online Pacemaker and More

In a clean sweep of major awards at the 85th annual National College Media Convention in St. Louis, October 25–29, The Ithacan came home with a Pacemaker Award, an Online Pacemaker Award and a First Place, Best of Show Award.
This is the first time a paper has won all three awards in the history of the convention.
The Pacemakers were for work produced during the 2005-06 academic year (Elizabeth Quill ’06, editor in chief). The October 12, 2006, issue captured the Best in Show award. Current editor in chief Vanessa Schneider (shown here with the plaques) accepted the awards on behalf of the paper.
The Pacemaker, presented each year by the Associated Collegiate Press and the Newspaper Association of America Foundation, is widely regarded as "the Pulitzer Prize of collegiate journalism," and is one of the most prestigious student journalism awards in the country. This is the fourth time, and the second consecutive year, that The Ithacan has won the Pacemaker; the paper has been a finalist four times in the past five years.

Sunday, October 29, 2006

Another Alum Ties the Knot

Jen Quinzi ’00 married Chris D'Agnes in St. Mary's Church in Auburn on October 28. Shown here at the reception are, left to right, Jen and Chris; Suzie O'Rourke ’00, who served as one of the wedding photographers; Melissa Bloomrose Bluey ’00 and Rob Bluey ’01. Jen and Melissa were layout co-editors at the Ithacan. Jen went on to edit the Cayugan during her senior year at IC. Since then she has earned a master's degree from the Pratt Institute; she is currently working as a graphic artist at PBS in New York.

Thursday, October 26, 2006

Eat Your Heart Out, ICQ

The Ithaca College Quarterly may not publish wedding photos anymore, but that needn't stop us. Here's a shot from the October 14 wedding of former Ithacan editor in chief Ellen Stapleton ’03 and Ben Hale in Reading, Pa. In attendance were such Ithacan luminaries as Anne Walters Custer, Liz Crowley, Megan Tetrick and "Receptionist of the Year" Julie Scott.