Friday, March 27, 2015

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Spring 2015 New York Ithacan Alumni Dinner

The spring National College Media Convention in New York brought current Ithacan students attending the conference together with our New York–area alumni for our annual dinner at Heartland Brewery on W. 43rd St. We had a great turnout, giving our alums a chance to catch up as well as to share their wisdom and experience with their current counterparts on the editorial board. 
From left, Taylor Palmer ’14, Chloe Wilson ’14, Proofreader Christie
 Citranglo,  Photo Editor Corey Hess, Michelle Boule, Alex Evans ’13,
Rachel Orlow ’13 and Shawn Steiner ’13.

From left, Chief Copy Editor Rachel Wolfgang, Graham Hebel ’13, Online
 News Editor Max Denning, Gillian Nigro ’14, Editor-in-Chief Jack Curran
 and Aaron Edwards ’12. 
From left, Nic Barajas ’08, Deepa Shah ’06, Matt Quintanilla ’07,
 Assistant News Editor Aidan Quigley, Assistant News Editor Natalie
 Shanklin, Erin Geismar ’09, Casey Musarra ’11, Vanessa Leong ’00
and Kelli B. Grant ’04.

From left, Assistant News Editor Jonathan Beck, Libby Sile 11, Casey
Musarra ’11 (again), Andrew Weiser ’11, Bill Earl ’09, Patrick Doyle and
Assistant Life & Culture Editor Mary Ford.

Monday, March 23, 2015

Ithacan Wins CSPA Gold Crown and Apple Award

From left, Assistant News Editor Natalie Shanklin, Online News Editor
Max Denning, Editor-in-Chief Jack Curran, Photo Editor Corey Hess,
Assistant Sports Editor Jon Beck and Assistant News Editor Aidan
 Quinn accepted theCSPA Gold Crown Award in New York City.

 The Ithacan was presented with a Gold Crown award by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association at the spring National College Media Convention on March 13 at the Sheraton Times Square Hotel in New York City. The Gold Crown awards are the highest honors presented by CSPA.

 The award was in the “hybrid” category, described as “a publication that works to combine their digital and print publications as one.” The award was for work produced during the 2013–14 academic year (Megan Devlin ’14, editor-in-chief).

 The judges’ commented that, “It’s so easy to find ‘must read’ stories in every issue of The Ithacan. The paper excels at campus news reporting on relevant topics. Substantive research and strong interviewing skills are evident throughout The Ithacan. Facts, stats, surveys, and infographics expand the coverage. Editorial leadership is evident on the ‘Opinion’ page. The tag line ‘at your fingertips’ introduces a reader-friendly digital site with diversified coverage on serious topics, such as racial inequality. The website has engaging bloggers who comment on everything from the minutiae of everyday college life to anthropomorphic advertising. Diversity is the key to The Ithacan’s success.”

 The Ithacan was one of only four newspapers in the country to win the Gold Crown in the “hybrid” category. The others were the Indiana Daily Student (Indiana University), The Iowa State Daily (Iowa State University) and the Rocky Mountain Collegian (Colorado State University).

From left, Hess, Quigley, Denning,
Beck and Shanklin with the latest
Apple in The Ithacan’s orchard.
 In addition, The Ithacan took the First Place Apple Award for Best Tweet and Third Place for Best Homepage in the convention’s on-site Best of Show awards at the March 14 closing session.

Founded in 1925, the CSPA is owned by Columbia University and operated as a program affiliated with its Graduate School of Journalism. The Crown Awards, first presented in 1982, are the organization's highest recognition of overall excellence.

Ithacan Ranked Gold Medalist in Annual CSPA Newspaper Critique

The Ithacan has been named a Gold Medalist for the 2013–14 academic year in the Columbia Scholastic Press Association’s annual college newspaper critique.

Among the judge’s comments, “Congratulations on publishing an outstanding print and digital newspaper and your Gold Medalist and All Columbian honors. You entertain, inform, practice enterprise journalism and serve as a student forum, all in an exceptional manner.”

Each year the CSPA evaluates member papers on overall content, news, depth reporting, features, opinion/editorial, sports, arts/entertainment, editing/headline writing, and design/graphics based on more than 150 specific criteria. This year the paper scored 963 on the critique’s 1,000-point scale. The CSPA consistently ranks The Ithacan as a Gold Medalist, its highest category. All Columbian Honors are given within a scorebook section when the sectional total reaches 95% or more of the possible points.

Ithacan Students Honored for Individual Work

Jennifer Williams, “Here Comes the Sun”
Five Ithacan students have been honored with 2014 Gold Circle Awards in the Columbia Scholastic Press Association’s annual competition honoring work by individuals in collegiate publications. The 2014 awards are for work produced during the 2013–14 academic year.  The individuals honored were:

  • Jennifer Williams ’16, Second Place for Single Feature Photograph for “Here Comes the Sun” (The Ithacan, April 3, 2014)
  • Gillian Nigro ’14, Certificate of Merit for News Writing for “Who's Your Daddy?” (The Ithacan, April 17, 2014)
  • Jackie Eisenberg ’14, Certificate of Merit for General Feature Story for “Break Out” (The Ithacan, March 20, 2014)
  • Corey Hess ’16, Certificate of Merit for Single Sports Photograph for “Who’s on First?” (The Ithacan, April 24, 2014)
  • Durst Breneiser ’15, Certificate of Merit for Single Sports Photograph for ”Raising the Bar” (The Ithacan, December 12, 2013)

The 2014 competition attracted 11,407 entries.

Corey Hess, “Who’s on First?’

Durst Breneiser, “Raising the Bar”